Black Swan Face Off

Courtesy of The Daily Beast

Was Sarah Lane, the Oscar winner’s dance double, really the victim of a “cover-up”? In an interview with The Daily Beast, Lane says yes—she did most of the dancing in the film, with no credit. The film’s choreographer and director tell a different story, however. ~ Marlow Stern, The Daily Beast

Wow. I can’t believe this is the first I am hearing of this dance drama. 27-year-old American Ballet Theatre soloist Sarah Lane, dance double for Natalie Portman in the psychosexual thriller Black Swan, is claiming that it was her in most of the dancing scenes, not Natalie and the studio is trying to cover it up. Both Black Swan director Darren Aronofsky and choreographer and Portman’s fiancée Benjamin Millepied have made public statements denying these claims.

If I had to take sides it would be Lane’s. Then again I am biased being a dancer myself, but it’s no secret that dancers are often taken for granted in these situations. On top of that, I didn’t even know Portman had a dance double. I assumed she did most of the dancing and if they needed a double, Millepied would have pulled one out of the Corps. I am a little disappointment in Millepied for not having his dancer’s back. Even if she is exaggerating her story, Millepied should have made sure she was given the credit she deserved.

In no way am I downplaying Portman’s performance in this movie. I know she trained hard and danced her heart out, but one year of training does not equal 32 perfect fourettes on pointe. Let’s just be realistic here. So, if it is Lane performing these moves then she should be given the recognition.

But you can make your own decision. Read the rest of Stern’s article at The Daily Beast

 

About kddance

I am a dance fanatic living in Dallas, TX. Not only do I teach dance but I also love writing about it. My love for dance started at the age of six when my mom signed me up for my first dance class. I have training in ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical, modern and acrobatics. In college I minored in dance and majored in journalism. I have had articles published in Dance Spirit, Dance Teacher and the Dance Council of North Texas' DANCE publication. Let me share my stories with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Swan Face Off

  1. John D says:

    I don’t think it would be hard for them to admit that the dance double did the hardest scenes (or that they used a few special effects for these). It doesn’t take away from Portman’s awesome effort. I don’t think anyone thought she was Jackie Chan, doing all her own stunts!!

Leave a Reply

