Battling the Recital Blues

Courtesy of Next Step Dance in Frisco, TX.

As much I love recital season there is a part of me that also dreads it. Every year I tell myself I am not going to obsess over my recital dances. And every year all I think about is how messy the dance is and how bad it’s going to look on stage. And recently these thoughts have really put me in a rotten mood when I teach.

But I’ve had a change of heart thanks to one of my studio employers. Her advice: Focus on the positive instead of the negative. She made me realize that I rarely say anything encouraging to my dancers now-a-days because I am constantly knit picking. I never wanted to be that type of teacher so I knew this had to stop now.

It’s amazing what a few words can do to your teaching morale. This week, instead of focusing on the bent knees and half-pointed toes, I focused on my dancers growth both skill wise and personality wise. I also tried to give more positive critiques. By doing this, I was much happier during class and not surprisingly so were my dancers. I also took a few minutes in each class to acknowledge the kids hard work and let them know how proud I am. We all left class feeling good.

As busy teachers and studio owners sometimes we get so caught up in studio politics and recital drama that we forget about the bigger picture. I know I do. So when you start to feel things spiraling out of control take a moment and remind yourself why you love what you do.

Then take a deep breath, count to 8 and get back into the studio.

About kddance

I am a dance fanatic living in Dallas, TX. Not only do I teach dance but I also love writing about it. My love for dance started at the age of six when my mom signed me up for my first dance class. I have training in ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical, modern and acrobatics. In college I minored in dance and majored in journalism. I have had articles published in Dance Spirit, Dance Teacher and the Dance Council of North Texas' DANCE publication. Let me share my stories with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Battling the Recital Blues

  1. John D says:

    Wow, can’t help but feel this applies to so many other situations…

Leave a Reply

