DBDW 2011: Day 2

Oww! I am feeling it today. Everything hurts: my arms, legs, back and even the muscles in my throat. I pushed myself a little too hard yesterday so I decided to pace myself today. We did the same warm up in modern and then added on to the exercises across the floor. We talked about being present in the moment. Dudley says if you are looking at yourself in the mirror then you are not doing the exercise correctly. We also spent a lot of time walking. You would think this would be easy, but let me tell you it is not. You can’t have too much or too little bend in the knees, you have to make sure your weight is distributed in the right places, your chest must be up and your head held high. After walking across the floor 3 or 4 times I was exhausted.

I had to get my energy up for jazz. Jamal loves fast jumps and turns across the floor. He also loves to change directions suddenly. By the time you get to the other side your head is spinning. This is were spotting and having a solid center comes in handy. I am excited to try some of these moves with my dancers.

African was a blur. I had paced myself well enough to do the whole class but I was dying at the end. The warm up is at least 30 minutes long and you never stop moving. Remind me to take an energy drink before class tomorrow. All the touching the earth moves are hell on my back but to be honest I don’t really feel anything halfway through class. Don’t know if this a good thing. I am just happy I made it through class. I then went home and took a really long bubble bath.

About kddance

I am a dance fanatic living in Dallas, TX. Not only do I teach dance but I also love writing about it. My love for dance started at the age of six when my mom signed me up for my first dance class. I have training in ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical, modern and acrobatics. In college I minored in dance and majored in journalism. I have had articles published in Dance Spirit, Dance Teacher and the Dance Council of North Texas' DANCE publication. Let me share my stories with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

