Happy B-day Gene Kelly

Today marks Gene Kelly’s 100th birthday.

This legendary hoofer and movie icon rose to fame in the 1940s and ’50s when people went to the movies to try to erase the effects of WWII. He danced and sang his way into people’s hearts and paved the way for tap dancers everywhere.

His most memorable movies include On The Town (1949), Summer Stock (1950), An American in Paris (1951) and Singin’ In The Rain (1952).

(Click on the links above to watch some of his greatest song and dance scenes.)

He also got to work with some of the greatest leading ladies and dancers of all time including Judy Garland, Debbie Reynolds, Rita Hayworth, Cyd Charisse, Ann Miller and Leslie Caron.

Today Turner Classic Movies (TCM) pays tribute to Gene Kelly as part of its Summer Under The Stars Series. I have DVR’ed the whole day and I can’t wait to watch it all.

Gene Kelly is not only a piece of dance history, but also a piece of American movie history.

This is an event you don’t want to miss!

About kddance

I am a dance fanatic living in Dallas, TX. Not only do I teach dance but I also love writing about it. My love for dance started at the age of six when my mom signed me up for my first dance class. I have training in ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical, modern and acrobatics. In college I minored in dance and majored in journalism. I have had articles published in Dance Spirit, Dance Teacher and the Dance Council of North Texas' DANCE publication. Let me share my stories with you.
This entry was posted in People and Places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

